Sloka of Dance I remember Since Childhood

Shiva is also The Nataraj….

“Angikam bhuvanam yasya
Vachikam sarva vangmayam
Aharyam chandra taradi
Tam vande satvikam sivam.”

The meaning of the sloka is:

We bow toHim the benevolent One
Whose limbs are the world,
Whose song and poetry are the essence of all language,
Whose costume is the moon and the stars…

The description of the NATARAJA :

He holds the drum of creation in his right hand symbolizing a new awakening
He holds fire in his left hand representing destruction of the old order
His other right hand is raised in blessing and he points the other left hand to his left foot, which has crushed the demon Muyalaka who represents ignorance.

Source:

http://library.thinkquest.org/04oct/01260/abhinaya1.html

Nagendra Haraya Trilochanaya

Bhasmaanga Raagaya Maheshwaraya

Nityaya Suddhaaya Digambaraaya

Tasmai ‘Na’ kaaraya Namah Shivaaya

Om Namah Shivaya Om Namah Shivaya

More of that song (I learned the words and have been singing it since my childhood), but I am feeling the meaning of it today more than ever before:

http://satyakadarshan.blogspot.com/2009/06/nagendra-haraya-trilochanaya.html

My Ignorance was to doubt

My Innocence leads me to Believe

I is Infinite

L is merely a Letter

Y is the end of Mystery

I is the End of Me

L starts over again

Y all Paths Converge

I Now Understand

Loving Shiva Is My Destiny

Yours I shall remain

I am YOUR reflection

L ust need not reign

Y Se Soul I Love You!

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspiring Works

Leave a Reply

